Skip navigation

UCD Volunteers Overseas
Student Society

Since the foundation of UCD Volunteers Overseas in 2003, there has been an extremely high level of student involvement in the day-to-day running of the organisation. This involvement led to a structured student committee emerging in 2008. This committee now operates as the UCDVO Student Society; students who want to get involved in the Society can sign up as members during Freshers' Week in September or by contacting the Society Secretary ( The Society holds an AGM in April each year to elect a number of officers to co-ordinate its activities throughout the academic year. The Student Society has the following aims:

  • To organise events on campus to raise awareness of the work carried out by UCDVO and the issues which projects seek to address
  • To involve as many students as possible in frequent volunteer work, fundraising and awareness campaigns to assist UCDVO in the achievement of its charitable mission to relieve poverty in countries where UCDVO works
  • To fundraise for UCDVO projects through a number of planned events
  • To facilitate and encourage broader student and graduate involvement in the work of UCDVO and to allow people to identify with the organisation as a whole
  • To make recommendations to the Board of UCDVO and work closely with the Manager of the charity in implementing strategies that have received UCDVO Board approval

The UCDVO Student Society officers can be located in the Volunteer Office on the ground floor of the Library Building, just beside Readers Cafe. The office is open 10am-5pm Monday to Friday, there is a rota on the door so you can see when the different officers are available and their office times are also noted below. You can also contact Student Society Officers on 01-7167126.


Student Committee 2019/20 (starting September 2019) 


Auditor: Sarah-Jane McCusker

Vice-Auditor: Andrea Whelton

Treasurer: George Harding

Secretary: Rebecca O' Connor

Campaigns and Awareness Officer: Thomas Craddock

Events Officer: Aoife McGoey & Rory Wasylyk

Public Relations Officer: Megan Farrell

Welfare and Fundraising Officer: Emer Nolan